The Constitution

The Constitution of the Western Australian Bar Association (WABA) provides for the election of a President, Vice-President and members of Bar Council; cl 32. It establishes the Bar Council as the body with overall responsibility for the affairs of the WABA. It requires Bar Council to appoint a Secretary and Treasurer; cl 40. It also provides for the election of a disciplinary committee by the members; cl 60A.


Bar Council

Bar Council is responsible for managing the affairs of the WABA; cl 52. In general, Bar Council exercises this function by setting the strategic direction of the WABA, establishing goals to be achieved and delegating responsibility for implementing those goals. However, oversight of the affairs of the WABA remains with Bar Council.

The Bar Council has power to delegate powers and functions to committees; cl 58. Bar Council will usually exercise this power to delegate to a member of Bar Council or an appropriate member of the WABA the responsibility for implementing the goals and day to day decision making relating to a particular topic.

Meetings of the Bar Council are usually convened on a monthly basis, or more frequently if necessary.


The following members elected on 25 October 2017 comprise the Bar Council for the ensuing twelve months:



Matthew Howard SC


Vice President

Stephen Davies SC


Ordinary Members

Martin Cuerden SC

Brahma Dharmananda SC

Asanka Gunasekera

Geoffrey Hancy

Elspeth Hensler

Sarah Russell

Members of Less Than Three Years' Standing

Rachel Joseph

Rachel Oakeley


Non WA Bar Chambers Ltd Members

Terry Palmer

Joel Yeldon